Key Components of PMKVY

The Government of India has launched the Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) scheme under the Ministry of Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (MSDE). This skill development scheme is for the recognition and standardisation of the skills by India's Government. This scheme aims to increase the working efficiency of the incoming and existing daily wage workers along with increasing the knowledge towards employable skills. 

The Key Components of PMKVY are as follows:

Short Term Training: 

The PMKVY Training Centres (TCs) impart various skills to individuals, according to the National Skills Qualification Framework (NSQF). The TCs also provide training in Soft Skills, Digital Literacy, Entrepreneurship and Financial Literacy etc. ranging from a period of 150-300 hours, depending upon the job role selected.

Recognition of Prior Learning: 

The program aims to align the skills of the unregulated sector workforce with the NSQF, with the help of Recognition of Prior Learning Certification. This seeks to certify individuals who are already proficient in some skill.

Special Projects: PMKVY aims to provide a platform where the youth can be provided with training in special areas in various departments of the Government or the Corporate Sector.

Kaushal and Rozgar Mela:

These are organised by the training partners every six months to ensure the placement of at least 50% of the training batch in various companies. They are organised with adequate press coverage, and the candidates are imparted with resume writing training, mock interviews etc.

Continuous Monitoring:

The Training Centres can expect continuous monitoring as the Monitoring Team may conduct a surprise visit to the centre at any time during the working hours, since the very beginning of the training.

Assessment and Certification:

All candidates who have successfully completed the PMKVY training with at least 70% attendance are eligible to take the Assessment Test. The candidate then has to pass the test and will be provided with the certification, if he fulfils the minimum percentage criteria, which is different for different skill levels.




Browse more